News Conference Advisory – July 2012

ACA New Women’s Benefits Start August 1

Women’s Leaders To Hold July 31 Audio Press Conference on Historic Advancement

HERvotes, a coalition of over 50 women’s organizations dedicated to mobilizing women voters in 2012 around women’s health and economic rights, will host an audio press conference on the new Well Woman Prevention benefits of the Affordable Care Act.

Starting August 1, all new health insurance plans must cover a set of new Well Woman Prevention benefits with no additional co-pays or costs.  These services, which include an annual well woman exam, pre-natal screenings for gestational diabetes and contraceptive coverage, are key women’s health provisions of the Affordable Care Act and represent breakthrough advancements for women’s health.

The following women leaders will speak to the historic nature of these services and its impact on women’s health:

When: Tuesday, July 31 at 2 p.m. EST (1 p.m. CST; 12 p.m. MT and 11 a.m. PST)
Who: Dr. Paula Johnson, Member, Institute of Medicine Panel on Prevention Services for Women; Executive Director, Connors Center for Women’s Health and Gender Biology, Brigham and Women’s Hospital; and Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Cindy Pearson, Executive Director, National Women’s Health Network
Eleanor Smeal, President, Feminist Majority Foundation

Other experts from women’s organizations, including Judy Waxman, Vice President of Health and Reproductive Rights for the National Women’s Law Center and Jessica González-Rojas, Executive Director,National Latina Institute for Reproductive Health, will also be on the call to respond to questions about women and the Affordable Care Act.

Please RSVP to Andrea Camp at acamp@ccmc.org or at 410-719-2309 for the call-in number and password.

Follow HERvotes actions on twitter: @HERvotesmedia
Go to HERvotes.org for background information.